Sep 15 2019

Statesville Record and Landmark

On Friday, North Carolina Sens. Thom Tillis and Richard Burr as well as Reps. Richard Hudson, David Rouzer, G.K. Butterfield, George Holding, Virginia Foxx, David Price and Mark Walker sent a letter to President Donald Trump requesting that the administration swiftly approve Gov. Roy Cooper’s request for an expedited major disaster declaration in the aftermath of Hurricane Dorian.
“As members of Congress representing the people of North Carolina, we write in support of Gov. Cooper’s request for a major disaster declaration for the state of North Carolina under Section 401 of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief Act for events occurring since September 5, 2019 for Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Hyde, New Hanover, Pamlico, Pender, Sampson, Tyrrell, and Washington counties,” the members wrote.
“At the height of the storm 42 counties declared local states of emergency, with 2,200 residents in shelters, and more than 527 activated National Guardsmen. Additionally, at the storm’s peak, more than 230,000 homes lost power as a result of numerous reported tornadoes and hurricane- force winds that lashed our coast, coupled with catastrophic flooding due to storm surge, resulting in flooding in sections of southern Hatteras and Ocracoke islands.
“Although the totality of devastation will continue to be evaluated, it is imperative that North Carolina has the resources now to begin the recovery process.”

Read the article here.