May 25 2017

Yesterday, U.S. Senator Thom Tillis (R-NC), member of the Senate Committee on Veterans’ Affairs, applauded the committee passage of the Department of Veterans Affairs Accountability and Whistleblower Protection Act, bipartisan legislation introduced by Senators Johnny Isakson (R-GA), Marco Rubio (R-FL), and Jon Tester (R-MT) to improve accountability at the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA).
“We applaud today’s bipartisan committee vote to advance this critical legislation that will help change the culture and improve accountability at the VA,” said the senators following today’s committee vote. “We hope the Senate will follow suit and take up this bipartisan legislation without delay so that VA Secretary Shulkin has the tools he needs to hold bad actors accountable and protect whistleblowers from the threat of retaliation.” 
Other co-sponsors of the bill include Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), John Boozman (R-AR), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Thad Cochran (R-MS), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Steve Daines (R-MT), Jeff Flake (R-AZ), Dean Heller (R-NV), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), John Kennedy (R-LA), John McCain (R-AZ), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Bill Nelson (D-FL), David Perdue (R-GA), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Dan Sullivan (R-AL), and Roger Wicker (R-MS).
The measure, which passed the committee by voice vote, would reform the VA by allowing the secretary to dismiss bad employees and ensure appropriate due process protections for whistleblowers. Following today’s committee approval, the legislation now moves to the full Senate for a vote on final passage.
The Department of Veterans Affairs Accountability and Whistleblower Protection Act is widely supported by key veterans stakeholders including the VA and U.S. House VA committee leadership. This legislation has also won the support of several veterans advocacy groups that represent millions of veterans in the United States and key government accountability groups. Read more about the legislation’s support here.